|
The Eighteenth Century Is Now Online
The Libraries have expanded our already impressive access to early
modern resources with Eighteenth
Century Collections Online. Scholars
of early modern literature, history, philosophy, religion, art,
music, government, and law have been singing the praises of two
of our most popular full-text resources, Early English Books Online
(known affectionately as EEBO) and Evans Digital Edition, the digital
version of Early American Imprints. Analogous to microform sets
that the Libraries have owned for many years, these two resources
have made it easier than ever to access a great portion of the
printed output for the early modern English-speaking world—materials
listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue 1475-1640,
Wing's Short-Title Catalogue 1641-1700, the Thomason Tracts 1640-1661
and Early American Imprints (1639-1800). However, there has always
been a gap in our access to materials indexed in the English Short
Title Catalogue: the massive and enormously expensive microform
set known as The Eighteenth Century. The good news is that great
rewards sometimes come to those who are patient: materials in The
Eighteenth Century collection are now being digitized and the Libraries
have purchased the digital collection. In its first phase, the
resource has “every page from 150,000 books” printed
in English from 1700 to 1800. As with Early English Books Online
and Evans Digital Edition, each and every title in Eighteenth Century
Collections Online will be listed in and accessible through Blais,
the online catalog. If you prefer to search the entire collection,
you can also connect directly to Eighteenth Century Collections
Online from the list of databases By Title on the Libraries’ web
site. As with other e-resources, off-campus users will be prompted
to log in before they can access the database.
For more information, please contact Adam Rosenkranz or Gale Burrow
(gale.burrow@libraries.claremont.edu).
Adam Rosenkranz
Honnold/Mudd
adam.rosenkranz@libraries.claremont.edu
|