New & Trials Databases

New Databases

Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) from the Buros Institute contains reviews of psychological tests (but not the actual tests) taken from the Ninth through the Seventeenth Mental Measurements Yearbooks (1985–2007), and is updated every six months. MMY, the venerable publication that has appeared as a print “yearbook” since 1938, allows researchers to see what reviewers have said about the reliability and validity of psychological measures before selecting a measure. A bibliography accompanies each signed review; tests have reviews from one or two professional reviewers. Reviews are available for over 2,500 tests.

Trial Databases

The Libraries have a subscription to these databases for the current academic year. If you find any of these databases valuable for your own and your students’ research, please contact the Resource Development & Collections team at rdc (at) libraries.claremont.edu or your librarian subject specialist.

British and Irish Women’s Letters and Diaries provides access to a full text collection of letters, diaries, and unpublished manuscripts written by women from 1500 to 1900. Like North American Women’s Letters and Diaries, which the Libraries already own, this database is an excellent source for primary documents to support advanced research on women and women’s issues and is valuable in all disciplines.

Current Protocols in Pharmacology and Current Protocols in Protein Science provide information on “best practices” methodologies and are updated quarterly. Constantly evolving to keep pace with the latest developments, these resources are valuable for the novice as well as the expert researcher.

EastView Russian UDB-EDU provides a unique opportunity to cross-search the contents of all 31 journals of the Russian Academy of Sciences, ranging from archeology to linguistics, as well as popular literary editions, and independent scholarly publications.

International Medieval Bibliography is a truly “international” and interdisciplinary bibliography for the Middle Ages, including publications in over 30 languages, and covering Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa for the period 400–1500. The database comprises over 300,000 articles derived from coverage of some 4,500 periodicals and 5,000 volumes of conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften, and exhibition catalogues.

Other trial databases include Book Review Digest Plus, PsycEXTRA, Social Science Electronic Data Library (SSEDL), and SocINDEX with Full Text. All these databases can be accessed from the Databases page on the Libraries web site and from the alphabetical list of databases.

Image of cover of this issue in print.

Contents

Featured Articles

Director’s Column

Collaboration for Learning
& Teaching in Claremont

CCDL Update

Senior Theses from
The Claremont Colleges

Faculty Perspectives

Undergraduates Using
Special Collections

From Special Collections

Edward John Trelawny Collection
Teaching, Learning,
& Library Research
Discovery & Access Tools
in the Libraries

Departments

Exhibits
Meet Your Librarians
New Staff at the Libraries
What’s New at the Libraries
Claremont Discourse
New & Trial Databases

Colophon

Connections is published twice each year for The Claremont Colleges community by the Libraries of The Claremont Colleges: Honnold/Mudd, Denison, Seeley G. Mudd, and Sprague.

© Claremont University Consortium. All rights reserved.