MathSciNet Database Guide
What is MathSciNet?
MathSciNet is a comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940. MathSciNet provides web access to bibliographic data and reviews of mathematical research literature contained in the Mathematical Reviews Database.
General Overview:
- From the libraries' website, http://libraries.claremont.edu,
- Click on "Databases"
- Then "M"
- Then "MathSciNet"
- You will see the "Full Search" page, where you can select fields, input data, and execute searches in the database.
- Below that, you will see limit options to refine your search strategy.
- The current CMP issue through today searches all current issues of mathematical publications
- The current MR issue selection searches the current Mathematical Reviews
- Publication year or date ranges selection will narrow your search to selected years
- The Display References Lists option will show the references to the article in question
- To the left of the search area, you will see further search options, such as authors, journals, and MSC
- You will also see the "Browse MathSciNet" area, which allows you to browse current journals, books, and by MSC
- The Clipboard is your marked records list
What is an 'MSC?'
MSC (mathematics subject classification) is a system used to categorize items in MathSciNet. The MSC breaks down into 5000+ two-, three-, and five-digit classifications, each corresponding to a specific field or subfield of mathematics. To search by MSC,
- Go to the MSC Search page by clicking on the "MSC" link under 'Search MathSciNet'
- You can then
- Enter a keyword or a two-, three-, or five-digit classification number
- Select a two-digit classification from the drop down menu
- You can browse the MSC by clicking on the "By MSC" link under "Browse MathSciNet"
Execute a Search
- Start from the "Full Search" page
- Select a field and type in a key word, such as 'partial differential equations' or an author's name
- See the Search Fields Cheat Sheet for assistance with selecting the fields
- From the "Results" page
- Clicking "Extend Headline List" will list your results in groups of 100
- Clicking on the Bolded Headline will take you to an abstract and citation information about the article. This is the information you will need to find the physical article in the library.
- Clicking on the author's name will return further works by the author
- Clicking on the series of numbers at the end of the headline will show you the secondary classification numbers relevant to the article
- From the "Abstracts" page
- You will see an abstract and citation information about the article or review.
- Clicking on the author's name will return further works by the author
- Clicking on the series of numbers at the end of the headline will show you the secondary classification numbers relevant to the article
- The "Linked PDF" button is to a pdf of the abstract and citation.
- "Add to Clipboard" will add the citation to your clipboard
- "Doc Delivery" will take you to MathSciNet's document delivery service
- If the library subscribes to the electronic access for your journal, the "Article" button will be active
- If available, references and reference citations will be active links.
- You can also use this feature to see what works are being used by researchers.
Search Fields Cheat Sheet
| Field Name | What it Searches |
|---|---|
| Author/Related | Author's name plus editors, translators etc. |
| Author | Author's name only |
| Title | Title of original article |
| Review Text | Any text in the body of the review |
| Journal | Journal name |
| Institution Code | The code assigned to a specific institution |
| Series | Series name |
| MSC Primary/Secondary | Primary or secondary Mathematics Subject Classification |
| MSC Primary | Primary Mathematics Subject Classification |
| MR Number | Number of item in Mathematical Reviews |
| Reviewer | Reviewer's name |
| Anywhere | All of the bibliographic information and review text |
| Ref Author | Author's name in a reference list |
| Ref Anywhere | Entire reference list |
Okay, so now I have these journal citations. How do I find the ones that aren't online?
Easy. : )
- Open a new browser window. Either click 'File' 'New Window' or ctrl+N
- Navigate to the libraries' website at http://libraries.claremont.edu
- Click on "Blais"
- Click on "Title"
- Copy and paste or type the title of the journal and click "Search"
- Select your journal title from the results list to see the item's record
- Note the "Lib. Has" information — this will tell you whether or not the library owns the volume you need, as well as what building the item is in.
- HON = Honnold/Mudd Library
- DEN = Denison Library
- RSA = Rancho Santa Ana Botanical Gardens
- CST = Claremont School of Theology
- Oh, No! My item isn't in Blais!
- Never fear! For a book, look to the maroon buttons on the upper right hand side of the website.
- Link+ is a consortium of California libraries that share books. It takes a Link+ book anywhere from three to five days to arrive
- Recall is to request the item from the user currently using the item. They then have up to two weeks to return the item.
- For a journal, go back to the libraries' homepage.
- Under "Getting Materials," click on the "Request Items Not At Claremont (InterLibrary Loan)"
- Fill out the form, and you will be notified by email when the copy arrives.
- Never fear! For a book, look to the maroon buttons on the upper right hand side of the website.
Questions?
Please contact Jezmynne Dene:
- Email Jezmynne Dene
- Phone ext. 77437 [(909) 607-7437]
References
MathSciNet help pages
http://www.ams.org/mathscinet/help/full_search_help_full.html
http://www.ams.org/msnhtml/classid_help.html
