PsycINFO on EBSCOhost — How to...
Find an empirical study or a literature review.
- Select your term (example "anxiety") in the first box. Click SEARCH to the right.
- Then select the tab "Refine search" at the far left of tabs below the search boxes. A new display "Limit your search" will open.
- Move down the list to the "Methodology" menu.
- Select "Empirical Study" or "Literature Review" Click SEARCH button at the bottom of the screen.
- Selecting Age groups, English limit, and Journal limits are all in this "Refine search" section as well.
Find an article that uses a test or measure.
- Select your term (example "anxiety") in the first box.
- Use the "Select a Field" menu to the right.
- Select TM Tests or measures. Click SEARCH to the right.
Find one type of publication in your search results.
- Look at the top of the results display after you do a search.
- At the top you may select one of these categories:
All Results / All Journals / Peer Reviewed Journals / Books/Monographs / Dissertation Abstracts
to see just part of your set by publication type.
See a full text psychology dissertations.
- PsycINFO includes abstracts of PhD dissertations in psychology. The Colleges have full text access to most US dissertations from about 1995 to the present.
- Copy the title of the dissertation from your PsycINFO results.
- Go to the database Dissertations and Theses
(Home > Databases > Databases by title D > Dissertations and Theses) and copy the title into the search box.
- Select the full text and email or save it from within the database.
- Note: The "Get This Item" does not work for dissertations!
Use the Thesaurus
- Click Thesaurus on the top green bar.
- Move to the yellow lower section and type your term in the BROWSE FOR box. Click Browse on the right.
- Select your term and add to the search with a And Or or Not from the pull-down menu just below the Browse for box. Click ADD.
- Your search will appear in the Search box. Add other terms from the Thesaurus.
- AND means both terms will be in each citation (a smaller more specific set).
- OR means either one term or the other will be in the search (a larger set).
- NOT means the second term will not be in the set (removes one item from the search).
Narrow a searched set by another subject represented in the set
- See yellow left margin of search results Narrow Results by Subject.
- Pick and click to find that subset. You can continue to narrow as you search.
Get full text via PsycINFO.
- APA journals are still available as full text inside PsycINFO. There is a HTML Full Text and/or a PDF Full Text link at the bottom of the citation.
- For other full text articles use the Get This Item button.
- For Dissertations copy the title of the dissertation into the Dissertation and Theses database.
- For books and book chapters, copy the BOOK TITLE — labeled SOURCE by PsycINFO — into Blais
as a title search, then into LINK+ if not available at Claremont. Do not use the chapter title.
Use your earlier searches.
- Click the Search History tab, right next to Refine Your Search just below the search boxes.
- Your search history will display newest on top of the list (reverse order). You can click boxes and combine searches with AND, OR, or NOT.
Send / Save / Print citations.
- Click the ADD (folder icon) next to the citation you want. It will change to ADDED.
- When you are done selecting citations, move to the Folder Has Items at the bottom right of the search screen. Click the icon.
- From the new screen you can choose Print / Mail / Save / Export at the top right of the new screen.
7/28/2011 5:12:00 PM