Databases: Languages and Literature

This is a list of databases for research in the subject of Languages and Literature. If you do not find what you are looking for try browsing by title:

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
  • Legend:
  • Go to database
  • Honnold/Mudd-only

Major Databases


MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association) Citations for critical scholarship on all modern literatures and languages, linguistics and folklore. » more info...

Humanities Abstracts Citations for articles from core journals in archaelogy, art, classics, film, folklore, linguistics, music, performing arts, literary and political criticism, world history and world literature. » more info...

You are leaving the Libraries Humanities Full Text "Encompasses all fields of the humanities, covering topics including art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, religion" plus theatre, music, and literature. » more info...

Oxford English Dictionary The complete text of the OED's twenty-volume Second Edition and three-volume Additions Series as well as draft material from the current OED project. » more info...

Early English Books Online More than 96,000 early printed works in English. » more info...

World Shakespeare Bibliography Online Provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, electronic media, and other materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced between 1963 and 2006. » more info...

Eighteenth Century Collections Online Nearly 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701-1800. » more info...

American Periodical Series (APS) Online Full text access to more than 150 years of American magazine journalism. » more info...

You are leaving the Libraries English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) Describes works printed in England or its dependencies in any language as well as works printed in English anywhere in the world from 1473 to 1800. » more info...

Latino Literature Offers novels, short stories, poetry and plays inspired by the intersection of cultures between the United States and six different countries and regions that constitute the Latino world. » more info...

Literature Resource Center Provides access to full-text biographies of authors and critical analysis of literary works and to bibliographies. » more info...

Literature Online Provides access to hundreds of thousands of full-text works of poetry, fiction, and drama written in English. Also includes full-text literary reference works and links to literary sites on the web. » more info...

Women Writers Online Full-text access to important books by and about women published from 1400 to 1850. » more info...

Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive A literary weekly which offers comprehensive coverage of the latest and most important publications, in every subject, in several languages as well as reviewing current, theatre, cinema, music and exhibitions. Coverage: 1902-2007. » more info...

Other Databases


America: History and Life Citations and abstracts to scholarly articles, books, dissertations, and book reviews published world wide on the culture and history of United States and Canada. Coverage 1964-present. » more info...

You are leaving the Libraries Handbook of Latin American Studies Scholarly citations for books, book chapters, journal articles and other materials published worldwide in the social sciences and humanities focusing on Latin America. No direct linking to Claremont holdings for pre-1990 items. » more info...

HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index Major resource for identifying scholarly research on Latin America, the U.S.-Mexican border region, and Hispanics in the U.S. » more info...

HarpWeek: 1857-1872, Civil War Years and Early Reconstruction Full text of Harper's Weekly, one of the most important general news and culture magazines of mid to late 19th Century America. » more info...

Historical Abstracts Citations with abstracts for scholarly articles, books, dissertations, and book reviews published worldwide on world history, covering 1450 CE to present. » more info...

International Index to the Performing Arts Full-text and citations for articles in more than 200 scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals. » more info...

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts Citations for articles on all aspects of the study of language. » more info...

You are leaving the Libraries Manchester Medieval Sources Medieval Sourcesonline is a web-based learning resource containing hundreds of original medieval history documents compiled for the teaching and study of history. » more info...

Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary More than 75,000 definitions, including pronunciation guides and word histories. Located in the lower-right of the page. » more info...

MLA Directory of Periodicals Detailed information on journals. » more info...

Periodicals Contents Index
SEE Periodicals Index Online
Selected citations for articles from a wide range of American and European periodicals. » more info...

Last updated: 3/7/2013 2:39:36 PM