Databases: History

This is a list of databases for research in the subject of History. If you do not find what you are looking for try browsing by title:

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
  • Legend:
  • Go to database
  • Honnold/Mudd-only

Secondary Scholarly Research


America: History and Life Citations and abstracts to scholarly articles, books, dissertations, and book reviews published world wide on the culture and history of United States and Canada. Coverage 1964-present. » more info...

Historical Abstracts Citations with abstracts for scholarly articles, books, dissertations, and book reviews published worldwide on world history, covering 1450 CE to present. » more info...

L'Année Philologique (EbscoHost) Provides access to citations from all known scholarly work on ancient Greek and Latin-related subjects concerning the period from the second millennium B.C. to 500-800 A.D. » more info...

Dyabola Citations of articles from publications covering archaeology and culture from "prehistory" to the early middle ages. » more info...

International Medieval Bibliography Covers Europe, the Middle East and North Africa from 400-1500. Click "Enter databases," then the database "Go" button. Limit 3 users. » more info...

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance Major interdisciplinary source for scholarly materials about the Middle Ages and Renaissance. » more info...

Women and Social Movements in the United States Brings together books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women's reform activities. » more info...

Women's Studies International Scholarly citations for books and articles on gender and women's studies. » more info...

HeinOnline Provides comprehensive, historical access to such materials as law journals, international and US treaties, out-of-copyright legal classics, the federal register, and Supreme Court slip opinions. » more info...

Periodicals Index Online Selected citations for articles from a wide range of American and European periodicals, with some full text available from Periodicals Archive Online » more info...

You are leaving the Libraries Manchester Medieval Sources Medieval Sourcesonline is a web-based learning resource containing hundreds of original medieval history documents compiled for the teaching and study of history. » more info...

Primary Research


African-American Newspapers: The 19th Century Full-text of articles from major African American newspapers published in the United States in the 19th century. Coverage 1827-1902. » more info...

American Periodical Series (APS) Online Full text access to more than 150 years of American magazine journalism. » more info...

American West Sources from the Everett D. Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library, Chicago. Original manuscripts, ephemeral material (trade cards, wanted posters, photos, claim certificates, news-sheets etc), maps, and rare printed works. » more info...

AP Images Contains more than 500,000 images from the Associated Press current collections and archives. » more info...

ARTFL (Project for Am. and Fr. Research on the Treasury of the French Lang) Provides access to more than 2,900 French texts ranging from the 12th to 20th centuries » more info...

British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries Provides access to a full text collection of letters, diaries, and unpublished manuscripts written by women from 1500 to 1900. » more info...

Defining Gender, 1450 – 1910 Five centuries of advice literature for men and women. » more info...

Documentary History of the Ratification of the Constitution This landmark work in historical and legal scholarship draws upon thousands of sources to trace the Constitution's progress through each of the thirteen states' conventions » more info...

Dolley Madison Digital Edition Complete correspondence of the most important First Lady of the nineteenth century. » more info...

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans Provides access to Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans (1639-1800). » more info...

Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker Provides access to Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819). » more info...

Early American Newspapers, Series I (1690-1876) Complete runs of approximately 171 newspapers from 24 states. Upon completion the series will have 1000-1200 newspapers. » more info...

Early English Books Online More than 96,000 early printed works in English. » more info...

Economist Historical Archive Contains the full-text of this magazine from 1843-2007. » more info...

Eighteenth Century Collections Online Nearly 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701-1800. » more info...

Eighteenth Century Journals A collection of 17th and 18th century British newspapers and periodicals. Claremont has access to sources from the Harry Ransom Center, University of Texas. » more info...

You are leaving the Libraries English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) Describes works printed in England or its dependencies in any language as well as works printed in English anywhere in the world from 1473 to 1800. » more info...

Ethnic Newswatch Full text articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press. » more info...

Gerritsen Collection - Women's History Online Primary documents related to women's history, 1543-1945. » more info...

HarpWeek: 1857-1872, Civil War Years and Early Reconstruction Full text of Harper's Weekly, one of the most important general news and culture magazines of mid to late 19th Century America. » more info...

HeinOnline Provides comprehensive, historical access to such materials as law journals, international and US treaties, out-of-copyright legal classics, the federal register, and Supreme Court slip opinions. » more info...

You are leaving the Libraries Historical Chicago Defender Provides full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue from 1910 to 1975. » more info...

Historical Los Angeles Times Provides full text access (pdf) from the beginning of the newspaper in 1881 to 1987. » more info...

Historical New York Times Provides full page digital reproductions and article images from 1851 to 2008. For access to current material, see LexisNexis Academic. » more info...

Historical Statistics of the United States Covers the entire history of the US in the form of statistics on virtually any topic relevant to the social and political fabric of the country. » more info...

Making of the Modern World Access to the theories, practices, and consequences of economic and business activity in the West. Coverage: from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century. » more info...

Medieval Travel Writing Full-text access to a widely scattered collection of original medieval manuscripts that describe travel, real and imaginary, in the Middle Ages. » more info...

Nation Archive Contains the full-text of the magazine from 1865 to the present. » more info...

National Review Archive Contains the full-text of the magazine from the first issue in 1955 to the present. » more info...

New Republic Archive Contains the full-text of the journal from the first issue in 1914 to the present. » more info...

Papers of George Washington Digital Edition Digitized version of the first 52 volumes of the print volumes. » more info...

Past Masters Full Text philosophy and theology classics online in scholarly editions (many of them complete). » more info...

Patrologia Latina Electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina. » more info...

Periodicals Index Online Selected citations for articles from a wide range of American and European periodicals, with some full text available from Periodicals Archive Online » more info...

ProQuest Congressional Formerly LexisNexis Congressional. Citations with abstracts to Congressional documents from 1769-present. Full-text is not available for every type of document. Click the i button for holdings information when in the database. » more info...

Slavery and Anti-Slavery Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition contains 7,277 books and pamphlets, more than 80 newspaper and periodical titles, and 18 major manuscript collections for studying the history of slavery. » more info...

You are leaving the Libraries State Papers Online British State Papers of the Tudors, Domestic, 1509-1603 and Stuarts, Domestic, 1603-1714 » more info...

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae Contains virtually all ancient Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600, and a large number of texts deriving from the period between A.D. 600 and 1453. » more info...

Times Digital Archive 1785–1985 (The Times of London) Provides full page digital reproductions with article images (and PDFs) from the complete paper, with coverage from 1785-1985, including ads and graphics, with searchable full text back to the first issue. » more info...

Palmer's Index to the London Times Citations for articles from The Times Newspaper of London. » more info...

U.S. Serial Set
SEE ProQuest Congressional
Provides full text access to a comprehensive collection of U.S Government publications compiled under the directive of Congress. To access it click on Advanced Search. » more info...

Women and Social Movements in the United States Brings together books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women's reform activities. » more info...

Other Databases Useful to Historians


Academic Search Premier Multi-disciplinary indexed database containing full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. Coverage 1880s-present. » more info...

Art Full Text Full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals from 1995, indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals from 1984. Art Index Retrospective is included and covers 1929 to the present. » more info...

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Scholarly citations for books and articles on religion and religious studies. » more info...

You are leaving the Libraries Armed Conflict Database
SEE IISS Armed Conflict Database
This resource monitors armed conflicts worldwide, focusing on political, military and humanitarian trends in current conflicts, whether local rebellions, long-term insurgencies, civil wars or inter-state conflicts. » more info...

Left Index Citations from periodicals on the left, with primary emphasis on politically and culturally engaged scholarship. » more info...

MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association) Citations for critical scholarship on all modern literatures and languages, linguistics and folklore. » more info...

OmniFile Indexing, abstracts, and available full text in a range of subject areas: business, education, science, humanities, social sciences. » more info...

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International Selected citations for journal articles, books, government documents and reports and foreign language publications. » more info...

Philosopher's Index Citations for scholarly books and journal articles in philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields. » more info...

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Citations for articles in more than 300 political science and government journals. » more info...

Popular


Economist Historical Archive Contains the full-text of this magazine from 1843-2007. » more info...

HarpWeek: 1857-1872, Civil War Years and Early Reconstruction Full text of Harper's Weekly, one of the most important general news and culture magazines of mid to late 19th Century America. » more info...

You are leaving the Libraries Historical Chicago Defender Provides full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue from 1910 to 1975. » more info...

Historical Los Angeles Times Provides full text access (pdf) from the beginning of the newspaper in 1881 to 1987. » more info...

Historical New York Times Provides full page digital reproductions and article images from 1851 to 2008. For access to current material, see LexisNexis Academic. » more info...

LexisNexis Academic Full text law journal articles, legal codes, judge's decisions, SEC filings, and news stories. » more info...

Los Angeles Times, The Complete full-text content of local and regional news (1985-present). » more info...

Nation Archive Contains the full-text of the magazine from 1865 to the present. » more info...

National Review Archive Contains the full-text of the magazine from the first issue in 1955 to the present. » more info...

New Republic Archive Contains the full-text of the journal from the first issue in 1914 to the present. » more info...

Readers Guide Retrospective Citations for popular articles from over 250 major magazines and periodicals, 1890-present. » more info...

Last updated: 3/7/2013 2:39:35 PM