Databases: Music

This is a list of databases for research in the subject of Music. If you do not find what you are looking for try browsing by title:

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
  • Legend:
  • Go to database
  • Honnold/Mudd-only

Major Databases - Reference Sources


Faber Companion to 20th Century Popular Music Comprises brief biographical entries for popular musicians and groups representing many popular music genres from jazz, blues, and swing to rock. » more info...

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online Full-text access to the 10-volume Garland Encyclopedia of World Music published in 1997. » more info...

Grove Music Online
SEE Oxford Music Online
Full text access to the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed. (2001), New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and the New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd ed. (2001). » more info...

Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music Brief biographical entries for 5,500 composers of Western art and concert music. » more info...

Harvard Dictionary of Music Online version of the one-volume dictionary of terms for musical styles, instruments, performance marks, concepts, and works, this is one the most authoritative in the field. » more info...

IPA Source IPA Source contains the International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. Comprises over 3,940 texts including 580 opera-aria texts. » more info...

Oxford Music Online Full text access to Grove Music Online, Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Oxford Companion to Music. » more info...

Major Databases - Audio


Database of Recorded American Music (DRAM) A collection of American music online, includes all genres. Offers access to over 7,500 compositions. See "more info" to use this database from off campus. » more info...

Naxos Music Library A collection of classical music available online, it includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo and Da Capo catalogues of over 80,000 tracks, including classical music, historical recordings, jazz, world, folk and Chinese music. » more info...

Smithsonian Global Sound A collection of 35,000 tracks of world music, spoken word, and natural sounds available online. » more info...

Major Databases - Journal Indexes


Music Index Indexes full content of 480 music journals plus selective coverage of 200 periodicals. » more info...

RILM - Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale Includes over 600,000 citations, in 214 languages from 151 countries, from music journals, festschriften, reviewing sources, and dissertations. » more info...

RIPM: Retrospective index to music periodicals Provides full-text access to music periodicals originating from 1800-1950 » more info...

Major Databases - Video


Opera in Video Streaming video of opera performances, interviews and documentaries. This growing collection is slated to include 250 performances of the most commonly studied operas. 3 simultaneous users. » more info...

Major Databases - Scores


Classical Scores Library Provides online access to over 24,000 music scores. » more info...

Other Databases


Humanities Abstracts Citations for articles from core journals in archaelogy, art, classics, film, folklore, linguistics, music, performing arts, literary and political criticism, world history and world literature. » more info...

You are leaving the Libraries Humanities Full Text "Encompasses all fields of the humanities, covering topics including art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, religion" plus theatre, music, and literature. » more info...

Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive A literary weekly which offers comprehensive coverage of the latest and most important publications, in every subject, in several languages as well as reviewing current, theatre, cinema, music and exhibitions. Coverage: 1902-2007. » more info...

Last updated: 3/7/2013 3:39:36 PM