Databases: Government
This is a list of databases for research in the subject of Government. If you do not find what you are looking for try browsing by title:
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z- Legend:
- Go to database;
- Honnold/Mudd-only;
- Trial database;
- By appointment only
Major Databases | |||
| PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International | Selected citations for journal articles, books, government documents and reports and foreign language publications. | » more info... | |
| Worldwide Political Science Abstracts | Citations for articles in more than 300 political science and government journals. | » more info... | |
| Columbia International Affairs Online | A wide range of documents including working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences. | » more info... | |
| Catalog of Government Publications [retrospective] | Citations to U.S. documents created by all three branches of the U.S. government 1895-1976 | » more info... | |
Related Databases - Social Sciences/Humanities Databases | |||
| Academic Search Premier | A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. | » more info... | |
| Alternative Press Index | Provides access to citations in journals covering cultural, economic, political & social change. | » more info... | |
| America: History and Life | Citations and abstracts to scholarly articles, books, dissertations, and book reviews published world wide on the culture and history of United States and Canada. | » more info... | |
| Historical Abstracts | Citations with abstracts for scholarly articles, books, dissertations, and book reviews published worldwide on world history, covering 1450 AD to present. | » more info... | |
| Left Index | Citations from periodicals on the left, with primary emphasis on politically and culturally engaged scholarship. | » more info... | |
| OmniFile | Indexing, abstracts, and available full text in a range of subject areas: business, education, science, humanities, social sciences. | » more info... | |
|
Social Science Citation Index SEE Web of Science |
Social Science Citation Index is accessed through Web Of Science | » more info... | |
| WorldCat | Citations for books, computer programs and data files, films, journals, magazines, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, slides, sound recordings and videotapes housed in libraries worldwide. | » more info... | |
Related Databases - Full Text | |||
| Columbia Gazetteer of the World | Encyclopedia of geographical places and features. | » more info... | |
|
|
GPO Access | Provides access to multiple government databases. | » more info... |
| HeinOnline | Provides comprehensive, historical access to such materials as law journals, international and US treaties, out-of-copyright legal classics, the federal register, and Supreme Court slip opinions. | » more info... | |
| LexisNexis Academic | Full text law journal articles, legal codes, judge's decisions, SEC filings, and news stories. | » more info... | |
| Los Angeles Times, The | Complete full-text content of local and regional news (1985-present). | » more info... | |
| Historical Los Angeles Times | Provides full text access (pdf) from the beginning of the newspaper in 1881. Upon completion (with a projected date of 2006), the database will include the complete contents of the LA Times through 1984. | » more info... | |
| World News Connection | Full-text English language translations of foreign news service articles, translations of foreign speeches and other news items from the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS). | » more info... | |
| Keesing's World News Archives | Provides comprehensive and concise stories on world events since 1931. | » more info... | |
Related Databases - OECD | |||
| SourceOECD Statistics | Full-text online statistical data on OECD countries. | » more info... | |
Related Databases - Congress, U.S. | |||
| LexisNexis Congressional | Citations with abstracts to hearings, committee prints, reports and documents issued by Congress since 1969, full-text links to bill files, reports, and witness testimony. See "more info" for Hearings and other components. | » more info... | |
| CQ Library | Full text articles published in CQ Weekly and CQ Researcher. | » more info... | |
|
|
Thomas | Full text of Congressional Record from 1991, including Congressional bills and votes from 1989, committee reports and information, and historical documents. | » more info... |
Related Databases - Declassified Federal Documents | |||
| Digital National Security Archive | Declassfied primary documents in twelve complete collections. | » more info... | |
Related Databases - Dissertations | |||
| Dissertations & Theses | Indexes 1.6 million dissertations and masters theses from academic institutions in the US, Canada, Great Britain, and Europe. | » more info... | |
Related Databases - Public Opinion Polls | |||
| LexisNexis Academic | Full text law journal articles, legal codes, judge's decisions, SEC filings, and news stories. | » more info... | |
|
|
Roper Center | Contains indexes to polls back to 1940s; electronic access to codebooks from mid-90s. Ask Reference Librarians Mary Martin or Sheree Fu for help in obtaining raw data files. | » more info... |
Related Databases - States, U.S. | |||
| LexisNexis State Capital | State-by-state access to full text bills and bill tracking, legislative calendars, state statutes, constitutions, regulations, and more. | » more info... | |
Related Databases - Statistical | |||
| CountryData.com | Provides political and economic data on over 140 countries and forecasts political risk ratings. Use the link in the "Online Subscriptions" area. | » more info... | |
| Global Development Finance (GDF Online) | Provides direct access to more than 200 debt and financial flows indicators for the 134 countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt to the World Bank Debtor Reporting System. | » more info... | |
| ICPSR Data Archive | Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. | » more info... | |
| LexisNexis Statistical | Comprehensive access to U.S. statistical information. Some full-text, some citations. | » more info... | |
| National Trade Data Bank (NTDB) | Data, reports, and handbooks on US trade, imports, and exports. | » more info... | |
| Political Risk Yearbook Online | Covers 100 countries. Includes history, geography, social conditions and international relationships, political and economic risks to business and key economic forecasts. Use "Online Subscriptions" area link. | » more info... | |
| RAND California | Data on California and its cities and counties; an online index of public policy and research publications; and monthly reports on the California economy. | » more info... | |
|
|
Roper Center | Contains indexes to polls back to 1940s; electronic access to codebooks from mid-90s. Ask Reference Librarians Mary Martin or Sheree Fu for help in obtaining raw data files. | » more info... |
| SourceOECD Statistics | Full-text online statistical data on OECD countries. | » more info... | |
| Statistical Abstract of the United States | Statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Selected international data is included. | » more info... | |
|
|
UNdata (formerly UNCDB) | Selected series from 30 specialized international data sources for all available countries and areas. | » more info... |
|
|
United Nations Common Database (formerly UNSTATS) SEE UNdata |
The UN Common Database has been replaced by a new system, UNdata, which was launched in February 2008. | » more info... |
| World Development Indicators | Provides access to economic data elements for more than 200 countries world-wide from World Bank and other organizations. | » more info... | |
Related Databases - United Nations | |||
|
|
UNdata (formerly UNCDB) | Selected series from 30 specialized international data sources for all available countries and areas. | » more info... |
|
|
United Nations Common Database (formerly UNSTATS) SEE UNdata |
The UN Common Database has been replaced by a new system, UNdata, which was launched in February 2008. | » more info... |