About trial databases
These electronic resources have been made available to the Claremont Colleges on a temporary basis (varying from 1 month to 1 year). These trials allow the Library to assess their importance to our Students, Faculty and Staff. The level of use each one receives helps us to make decisions regarding future subscriptions or purchases.
If you find one of these resources to be useful for your teaching or research, please let us know (be specific!) and tell a friend or colleague.
2014 e-Duke Books Scholarly Collection
The 2014 e-Duke Books Scholarly Collection includes at least 100 new electronic books published by Duke University Press in the humanities and social sciences in calendar year 2014. Customers also gain term access to backlist titles during years in which they purchase the current collection. Features include:
- chapter downloads in PDF format (DRM-free)
- advanced searching and filters
- recommendations for further reading
- toll-free linking to cited content in Duke University Press journals and other publications hosted at HighWire
- COUNTER-compliant usage reports
- free MARC records created by Duke University librarians with OCLC Control Numbers
- Chapter level metadata is available.
March 1 – May 30, 2014.
State Papers Online
State Papers Online, 1509-1714 is a collection of English government documents originating from the 16th and 17th centuries. The papers feature the office archives and correspondence of the secretaries of state serving the Monarch as facsimile manuscript documents accessed directly or via the fully searchable Calendar. This collection contains information on every facet of English government, including social and economic affairs, law and order, religious policy, crown possessions and intelligence gathering as well as Britain's international relations and foreign policy. Users have the ability to cross search the Calendars and access the documents directly from their individual Calendar entries. By overcoming the difficulty of matching an individual Calendar entry to the original facsimile document, State Papers Online, 1509–1714 marks a huge advance for historians in all disciplines, both as a research tool and as a teaching resource. State Papers Online includes:
- Letters to and from local officers or private persons
- Letter to and from the monarchs
- Letters to and from the Secretaries of State
- Documents in cipher
- Letters to and from ambassadors abroad
- Instructions to commissioners and to special missions
- Depositions, documents covering the Crown's revenues and possessions
- Private papers and papers produced by the office's internal administration
- Drafts of proposals or of acts of Parliament
- More than 200,000 searchable manuscript pages, along with searchable calendars.
PolicyMap is a fully web-based Geographic Information System and mapping company. It's fast, efficient and captures data in visually powerful ways through custom demographic maps, tables, reports and our analysis tool, Analytics. Use the GIS mapping services to easily incorporate your own data and leverage it against the thousands of indicators already available in PolicyMap. Available data includes demographics, home sale statistics, health data, mortgage trends, school performance scores and labor data like unemployment, crime statistics and city crime rates. A complete list of data available can be found in the data directory. Produced by The Reinvestment Fund (TRF) a nonprofit community development financial institution that works across the Mid-Atlantic. April 1 - May 31, 2014
J.P. Morgan Research
J.P. Morgan Research features thousands of analyst reports covering over 3,000 global companies and all industries. Derived from Morgan Markets – which is J.P. Morgan’s exclusive information for key clients and investors – these reports are made available to academic users for education and research purposes. Coverage is 2011 to current with a one week embargo. Lengthy reports cover equities and company performance, global and regional economics and financial strategy, foreign exchange, commodities, liquidity, and emerging markets. April 2 - May 2, 2014
ProQuest Research Companion
ProQuest Research Companion features nine multimedia-based learning modules push students to think more critically about their sources, while guiding them step by step through the research process, focused on the key information literacy principles of finding, evaluating, and using information. Seven interactive tools use metadata from Ulrich’s and Bowker to automate basic research tasks and let students focus on the parts of their research that interest them the most. This product is designed to work on computers, tablets, and smart phones, Research Companion is easy to use and can be accessed anywhere there is Wi-Fi or cellular service. April 14 - May 14, 2014.
National Geographic Virtual Library
National Geographic Virtual Library brings together the entire run of National Geographic magazine with books, maps, images, and videos. Features the magazine archive 1888 - Present, People, Animals, and the World; and NG Kids. April 14 - May 13, 2014.
Meet the Press from Alexander Street Press
Meet the Press from Alexander Street Press Meet the Press from Alexander Street Press opens up a wealth of information to libraries by making over 1,500 hours of footage—the full surviving broadcast run to date—available online in one cross-searchable interface. Since its television premiere in 1947, Meet the Press has cemented its position as an institution in broadcast journalism. For the first time ever, network television’s longest running program—with its thousands of interviews, panels, and debates—is available via streaming online video. Now, students and scholars have unprecedented access to this treasure trove of material, including many episodes not seen since their original broadcast. April 14 - May 2, 2014
English Historical Documents Online
Key features of English Historical Documents Online include:
- Instant access to over 5,000 historical documents
- Highly discoverable content through Quick, Advanced and Faceted search
- Search refinement through adding and removing search filters directly on the results page
- Explore content by Date, Historiography and Historical methods, Population and environment, Society, Economic affairs and technology, Intellectual, cultural and the arts, Religious belief, practice and organization, Politics, administration and law, Military, Foreign affairs, Status entries and Source types
- Personalized login for individual users: bookmark entries, and save and manage searches
- Download, print, share and citation tools
- Institutional access via Shibboleth
- Institutional account management functionality
- COUNTER compliant analytics and usage statistics
Check out these resources and don't forget to fill out the evaluation form above to give us your opinion about them!